Gluten in Chinese Herbs: Addressing the Concerns of Those with Celiac Sprue

Wheat and barley (as well as other grains) are used in Chinese medicine, though not with high frequency other than in digestive formulas. The majority of Chinese herb formulas are free of grains. For those who are seeking to avoid any exposure to gluten, the wheat and barley ingredients would be entirely avoided, while for those who wish to simply keep exposure to a minimum, these substances might be used if the quantity can be limited (i.e., they represent a small fraction of the formulation).